Are we having fun yet?

I’m three weeks in to parenthood and I’ve got to say, this isn’t what I expected.

I’m not actually a Nickleback fan, but I’ve had a line from “This is how you remind me” above circling in my head for a few days now – “Are we having fun yet?

I expected the sleep loss, I expected the mood swings, I expected the exhaustion and I expected the relentless care that the baby would need.

I didn’t expect the lack of balance to these feelings though.

Charlie Brooker described his newborn daughter as a “screaming pet rock” and I can heavily relate. Baby does little more than sleep, cry, scream, eat, fill nappies and vomit (ordered by frequency). Every difficulty is the end of their world and is treated as such. Your whole life is now spent caring for them and making their life as comfortable as possible, but the screams and looks of utter despair from them as you prepare a bottle or change their nappy gives me no gratitude.

Even rare moments of activities you used to enjoy don’t give the same pleasure, as you’re so aware that it’s baby’s prerogative to ruin anything at any time with screams of red faced raging hopelessness.

She does occasionally just lay awake, looking at her new world in wonder, and I’ve seen hints of a smile a few times now. But these moments are rare and far between and give little consolation to the sleepless nights and desperate screams which have plagued the last three week.

They say it gets better. I hope so, because I’m not having fun yet.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Post a comment

