Milestones. Or “Hang on, did she just…? Yes she did!”

Guardian writer Charlie Brooker describes baby developments as a series of upgrades but I think it’s better to refer to these key developments as milestones.

It felt like Baby reached a significant one this weekend when I heard her create a noise that wasn’t cry related. So far she either cries, screams or grunts in a pre-crying build up. But yesterday I heard a different noise, one that wasn’t driven by fear or distress, and it brought an excited smile to my face.

This was a significant moment for both of us. I’ve admitted before that so far this baby game hasn’t been a lot of fun so I was especially pleased to find baby do something that entertained me – a rare feat from my screaming pet rock.

Let’s hope it’s the first of many!

Tags: , ,

Post a comment

