Surreal night feeds

The early morning feed (usually between 3 and 4am) is a weird one.

If I’m ever covering this slot (which thankfully is rare) I put the radio on to keep me company – BBC Radio4 is usually my station of choice.

This morning as I sat down to feed our hungry bear cub I listened to a program about terminal cancer sufferers taking LSD to calm their anxiety. It was quite a surreal situation, feeding a baby in the dark with distant birdsong and listening to a recording of a now deceased woman discussing her LSD trips and how it helped prepare her for her own death. A very interesting and quite emotional story.

I’m writing this post to reassure myself it wasn’t a weird dream…

Normal service should resume shortly.

Post a comment

