When worlds collide

20130606-141432.jpg
One thing that has helped me through the last year, particularly when I’ve been struggling with my mental health, is the separation of work and home.

I could try and forget about all my personal insecurities and anxiety at work and be Professional Dad, putting on a show and acting how I imagined someone who didn’t feel like crying at the bottom of a dark well would act.

As part of this weeks changes with the little one going to nursery, I now work from home one day a week. This means I can use the time usually spent commuting getting an extra hour in on work to let me leave early another day, and picking the little one up from nursery.

I hadn’t anticipated how different I am “at work” even when I’m at home. I was meant to call the nursery at 10:30 to check how things were but had completely switched off that part of my brain and it felt a bit weird when I realised I’d forgotten / ignored it.

What I’ve learnt about working from home.

  • I wish I was a cat. Our litterly does nothing all day except rearrange himself into comfy positions (some of which really don’t look comfortable).
  • Coffee you make yourself at home is soon much better
  • Not being constantly disturbed and interrupted is fantastic.
  • My home IT and broadband is much better than what is used at work.
  • Finishing your days work and being already home is awesome.
  • There are a lot of potential distractions. Everywhere.
  • Carrying a crap laptop bag of work stuff on the train is a pain in the arse.
  • It can get a bit quiet and lonely. I think I’ll have a radio on or something next time.
Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “When worlds collide”

  1. Alex says :

    I completely relate to the separating home and work thing. I only work two miles from home and often when I’m offered a lift home (I usually walk), I decline because it’s important for me to keep some distance between the two. If I walk briskly it takes just over 30 minutes and I’ve put that critical distance between the two separate lives I run- professional working me and at home me 🙂

    • Sane Dad Blog says :

      I’ve always been put off working too close to home, partly as I live quite rurally and have a fear of being enveloped into some sort of Royston Vasey existence, and partly because I like the separation and having some ‘me time’ on my commute to read, watch a video or sleep.
      I am often disappointed if someone I know spots me on the train and wants to chat, this is time just for me!

Post a comment

